Self-Story1: Finding true self is a home

After getting married when I first time moved to reside in Canada, it was October, the Fall. Wait! Did I even know season Fall back then? I already felt like Winter, even in my heart. Moving to a new country leaving behind my loved-ones, it was like a stagnant Winter where cool breeze loses its direction and forgets to take rest. Likewise, my mind was preoccupied with thoughts and overloaded with emotions. I didn’t have many things to do either, being at home felt lost until I went to Banff.

Alex, my husband said, “Love, you’re going to adore this Lake Louise”. I exclaimed, “ Oh! I really can’t wait to see now honey,” and continued, “as you already mentioned it numerous time”. Thereafter, it was a moment, where even in Fall, various spring buds revived and started sprouting colours of nature. And so did I.

Happiness began to run in my blood, reviving whole body and mind. In beauty of giant mountains, I felt like a bird where my spirit started flying beyond its peak. The steadiness of Lake touched my inner peace and serenity while the red, yellow, orange blooming blushes around acted as a shield similar to a mother bearing a child, protecting me from every side. Then the foggy clouds spread its wings covering the sky to provide the warmth of home. As a ray of light makes a way through them, my heart began to pulse like never before. Such blissful tranquil silence enlightened my soul and I was stunned how the calmness can speak to my heart beyond deep words. Chirping of birds was a melody to my ears like a rhyming poetry or a lyrical song. Later got disrupted by Alex words, “What do you say?” My expression silently speaks in awe and wonder. Further he added, “How do you feel, now?” Thereafter, I excitedly replied, “My home”.

A home is a picturesque of nature where I found myself to be full of life. A home is a hope where I found new goals and new beginning. It is also being a free-spirited person who lets oneself overcomes the hurdles and fly to the sky. Furthermore, it is a love to and fro which being friendly makes it all. Thereby, a home is also acceptance without bias. All of which was embedded in that moment where last but not least, nature showered its blessings in form of snow. Thus, like a cherry on a cake, a home opens doors.


3 thoughts on “Self-Story1: Finding true self is a home

  1. I really enjoyed reading this!
    I felt as if I was there, as if I was feeling what you were feeling in my own heart and conscience. The detail you put into describing Banff was beautiful, I myself am a huge fan of the town and I think you did a great job explaining what it feels like being there. The way that you consider your husband “home” is heartfelt and I felt that reading about you two finding home together.
    I have never had the chance to visit Lake Louise but in reading your self story, it sounds like a place that I would like to see.
    Great job with this.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.